Simple is difficult

Wait, what? How is “simple” and “difficult” equivalent at all? Culture generally makes things complicated because in the complexity it’s easy to deceive and be deceived. I think of complexity like a web spun and weaved with many intricacies and threads. Try tracing one down and you quickly get lost and then “caught” in the web of complexity. My experience is that complexity is easy and if you want to get philosophical for a moment I believe related to the Law of Entropy that all things decay into randomness including our system of thought.

To reach simplicity requires real work…a lot of work in most cases because the web of complexity must be untangled and set aside. As I have been reflecting recently on an old admonition “LEARN to do good”, followed by a list of SIMPLE things that are good:

  • seek justice
  • Defend the oppressed
  • Take up the cause of the fatherless
  • plead the case of the widow

I have been asking myself the question: why do those things largely go undone? And I return to the statement in the beginning, I must LEARN to do them. It’s going to take real work to make them part of my thinking and practice. In the process I’m also going to have to set aside the cultural definition of “good” as some complex set of things achievable by only a few or those that are ultra smart, or ultra diligent, or ultra whatever. I can do that list of simple things any day and every day.

So then why do those things go undone? Bear in mind any answer that justifies why they are NOT done is complexity speaking and the deception that so easily ensnares our thinking.

About Steve Ledford
Christian, husband, father, businessman, engineer, and all around regular guy. I have travelled some uncommon paths in life. Over the course of time I have found that truth is always simple, without exception. My life's purpose is to find it, live it, and speak it.

Leave a Reply

