Truth is simple

I have come to a basic conclusion in life that one of the critical tests of truth and wisdom is how simple it is to express or explain. Which is very different from how I started as a young engineer years ago where my very livelihood was built on fixing complex things. But even in engineering I have come to appreciate that the ingredients of a truly successful engineering solution are simple things, not complex ones.

Steve Jobs is quoted as saying:

Simple can be harder than complex. You have to work hard to get your thinking clean to make it simple.

I didn’t know he said this until after his death recently but you can see this embodied in Apple products. I am often chided by my engineering colleagues for using so many Apple products since from their perspective they are “dumbed down” or inflexible. And then I take my iPhone out and do a basic test case side by side with their “better” phone, and most of the time I am done with the task much faster than my friends with their “better” phone. As I tell people, I use Apple products because they are simple to use……they just work.

My experience is that this principle extends to many other subject areas: life, relationships, politics, and religion. Looked at from the negative point of view, many deceptions are built on complexity for the simple reason to confuse and distract from the real story and truth. Some deceptions are not intentional or willful. The complexity vs simplicity principle remains the same but in those cases we use a different word: fallacy, something generally accepted but is not true.

A caution in this is that simple does not mean easy whether taken from the perspective of sharing truth to others or accepting simple truth ourselves. Why? From the perspective of the truth sharer, reaching the simplest form in order to express truth is hard work with a lot of cutting away to reach that point. Alternately, from the perspective of the truth receiver, it may be simple to understand but very difficult to accept the intuitive and natural conclusions that a truth requires.

This reminds me of an old consulting story I heard years ago. An older, retired businessman is asked to give a lecture at a conference and asked his fee for the service. He responded with 3 options:

Option 1 – a 60 min lecture for $5000

Option 2 – a 30 min lecture for $15000

Option 3 – a 15 min lecture for $25000

As any writer or spokesperson will tell you, the shorter the time you have to deliver a message, the more time it takes to hone and sharpen it to the ideas and concepts that truly matter. Truth is simple!

About Steve Ledford
Christian, husband, father, businessman, engineer, and all around regular guy. I have travelled some uncommon paths in life. Over the course of time I have found that truth is always simple, without exception. My life's purpose is to find it, live it, and speak it.

Leave a Reply

