How’s that change working out?

I really don’t like politics. To me politics is equivalent with selling snake oil. And recently as I was reading some proverbs I came across this one and reminded me why I didn’t buy into the fluff of the 2008 Presidential election cycle:

21 My son, fear the LORD and the king;
Do not associate with those who are given to change,
22 For their calamity will rise suddenly,
And who knows the ruin that comes from both of them?   Proverbs 24:21-22

There are several fallacies that I’ve learned over my years with the proposition that all we need to do is change.

Fallacy #1 – Change is better than perseverance and endurance

Fallacy #2 – Change is without risk or negative consequence

Fallacy #3 – Change is better than where we are today

Fallacy #4 – The change to state is “good” and the current situation is “bad”

Fallacy #5 – Principles don’t matter, all we need is a healthy dose of change

Make no mistake that there are times when change is necessary and required. However, a Progressive mentality that constant change is required to “advance” and improve ignores basic intuition that looking before leaping really does work out for the better.

About Steve Ledford
Christian, husband, father, businessman, engineer, and all around regular guy. I have travelled some uncommon paths in life. Over the course of time I have found that truth is always simple, without exception. My life's purpose is to find it, live it, and speak it.

Leave a Reply

