A number that matters

I’m a math guy. This first drew me to engineering and then into the business world of finance. Math is basically an exercise in using and creating numbers. Numbers can provide answers or key insights but they are not limited in scope to just engineering or science or finance. You can be bad at math and still find usefulness in numbers such as:

“So teach us to number our days, that we may gain a heart of wisdom.” Psalm 90:12

There are 3 numbers related to our days, my days or your days to be specific. Two numbers are unique to me and the third is shared by us all:

  • The number of my days until today; my past
  • The number of my days from now until I pass from life; my future
  • One day; today
I summarize these points with the basic truth that God made us to be people of the present. I cannot change the past nor can I control the future; I live in today, this day. The wisdom of numbering my days teaches me that I can be too enamored or depressed about the past, neither of which is productive for I can do nothing to recapture it. This wisdom also teaches me that control of the future is an illusion that I cannot master nor guarantee. Therefore, live the day for all that it may bring. This principle is broadly intuitive; we even have the adage, “Stop and smell the roses.” The irony of life is that I easily fall in the trap of living in the past or the future and miss today completely.
About Steve Ledford
Christian, husband, father, businessman, engineer, and all around regular guy. I have travelled some uncommon paths in life. Over the course of time I have found that truth is always simple, without exception. My life's purpose is to find it, live it, and speak it.

One Response to A number that matters

  1. Rebecca Romano says:

    Thank you, Steve, for these thoughts. I read not too long ago that the only ‘time’ we have is right now and the only thing we truly can control are our thoughts at the present time. Of course, we know this, really, but fail so often to ‘realize’ it.
    Yesterday, I had almost a 3 hr. session with a 75 yr. old Christian. I energy tested her while she was thinking of a grandchild…could not budge her arm…then had her think of her sister-in-law who will not allow any contact between them to make family peace…there was no strength at all. She was ruminating, fretting, and would not let go of something she could not control or change. What we are thinking at every moment…either makes us strong or weak. How wise the words in Philippians…’think on these things…’. It truly is amazing how powerful a ‘thought’ is on our whole being. Have tested Frederic time and time again…the answer is always the same.
    Take care, dear Steve, I appreciate you so much.

Leave a Reply

