The need for speed

My first thought of a blog writer is Abraham Lincoln standing at the podium in Gettysburg starting to read, “Four score and twenty years ago….” As odd as that sounds it’s just what pops in my head. What does that mean? Some of you may be saying, “Because you’re ______”  And to most people, including myself in times past, I’d have a fairly superficial answer without any real understanding or insight.

Today’s world is a constant, non-stop feed of information from friends, family, associates at work and school, teachers and bosses. It’s no longer limited to physical contact of person-to-person. We have facebook, blogs, internet news, twitter feeds, e-mail, SMS texting, cell phones and the list can go on and on and on with more methods added daily it seems. It is a literal tsunami washing over me every day of my life. Busy has a whole new meaning compared to even 10 years ago let alone 20, 30, or 40.

Speed and accessibility are simultaneously an asset and a liability. Speed of information in some contexts, such as my work as a software development manager, is crucial to decision making by me and others. However, speed of information in another context like my personal relationships can create enormous problems. Take my introductory thought. Speed through that one and you’ll miss some interesting connections in my life if you care to know them. Or worse, you’ll write me off as a whack-o and not pay attention to another word I say. That’s ok, sometimes I don’t want to pay attention to another word I say. 🙂

The simple truth is that not everything is the same. Therefore, I should take care that I don’t generalize and speed through everything. The asset of speed in my job can be a liability at home with my family.

About Steve Ledford
Christian, husband, father, businessman, engineer, and all around regular guy. I have travelled some uncommon paths in life. Over the course of time I have found that truth is always simple, without exception. My life's purpose is to find it, live it, and speak it.

Leave a Reply

